Français English

Genre

Dans le cadre du programme RFS, le genre est un thème transversal intégré dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de chaque projet. Les approches sensibles au genre permettent à chaque projet RFS de veiller à l'égalité des sexes en ce qui concerne l'accès aux ressources et services productifs, l'emploi et les processus de prise de décision dans le secteur agricole.

Pourquoi des interventions sensibles au genre sont-elles nécessaires dans les pays RFS ?

Pourquoi les approches sensibles au genre sont-elles essentielles à la création des systèmes alimentaires résilients ?

Comment les pays RFS exécutent-ils les activités sensibles au genre ?

En Afrique subsaharienne, les femmes représentent environ 50 % de la main-d'œuvre agricole, mais leur niveau de productivité est inférieur à celui des hommes en raison de l'inégalité d'accès à la terre, au crédit, aux intrants et aux services de vulgarisation. Les femmes travaillent également plus longtemps, soit 12 à 13 heures de plus par semaine que les hommes. En fin de compte, cette disparité entre les sexes a un impact non seulement sur les femmes, mais aussi sur la communauté dans son ensemble, en sapant la productivité agricole, le développement socio-économique et la sécurité alimentaire.

Dans les pays RFS, le changement climatique, la dégradation des terres et la perte de biodiversité affectent différemment les hommes et les femmes. Même si les femmes sont souvent les principales pourvoyeuses et dispensatrices de soins au sein de leur ménage, elles ont souvent moins de pouvoir de décision que les hommes. Les inégalités de pouvoir se traduisent par des différences dans la manière dont les ressources sont distribuées au sein des ménages. Les femmes sont plus vulnérables aux pénuries d'eau et de denrées alimentaires, un déséquilibre qui est accentué dans les régions touchées par le changement climatique, la dégradation des terres et les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes. Avec des niveaux d'éducation formelle plus faibles, les femmes n'ont pas non plus l'accès et les compétences nécessaires pour générer des revenus alternatifs qui pourraient diminuer leur dépendance à la production agricole pour les moyens de subsistance des ménages et la sécurité alimentaire

Le FIDA estime qu'en donnant aux femmes le même accès que les hommes aux ressources productives, aux compétences, aux outils et aux technologies, la production des exploitations agricoles féminines pourrait augmenter de 20 à 30 %. La participation des femmes, sur un pied d'égalité avec les hommes, à la gestion communautaire durable des terres et des ressources naturelles s'est avérée efficace pour améliorer la remise en état des terres, inverser le processus de désertification et améliorer les conditions socio-économiques au sein des communautés. 

Conformément à l'ambition du FEM d'assurer l'égalité des sexes et de promouvoir l'autonomisation des femmes dans toutes ses opérations, le programme RFS vise à combler l'écart entre les sexes dans l'agriculture en intégrant les perspectives et les préoccupations liées au genre dans la préparation, la conception, la mise en œuvre, le suivi et l'évaluation des projets et programmes agricoles. En intégrant les considérations d'égalité des sexes dans chaque étape de la mise en œuvre des projets RFS, le programme RFS œuvre à la transformation des institutions et des pratiques sociales discriminatoires. L'égalité d'accès aux ressources et aux opportunités pour les hommes et les femmes renforcera l'amélioration durable de la production agricole, la sécurité alimentaire et la participation aux processus de prise de décision.

Dans l'ensemble du programme RFS, les équipes responsables des projets ont identifié les différents besoins, rôles et responsabilités des femmes sur les sites des projets, ainsi que les possibilités d'engagement égal avec les femmes. Les résultats de ces évaluations ont été intégrés dans la mise en œuvre des projets de diverses manières, notamment par la désagrégation des objectifs de participation par sexe dans les cadres de suivi et d'évaluation, par des partenariats stratégiques avec des groupes de femmes et le renforcement de leurs capacités, par l'élargissement de l'accès des femmes au financement, par l'octroi de subventions pour les technologies agricoles et les actifs de gestion des ressources naturelles pour les femmes, ainsi que par le soutien aux activités génératrices de revenus pour les femmes.

Le projet RFS Éthiopie engage actuellement des experts en matière de genre dans le développement d'un outil d'aide à la décision sensible au genre, qui permet de suivre facilement les indicateurs socio-économiques qui ont des changements sensibles au genre pendant la durée du projet. Au Nigeria, le projet RFS a établi un partenariat stratégique avec le Réseau pour l’émancipation des paysannes (WOFAN), organisant des ateliers de formation pour les agents de vulgarisation agricole en vue de garantir l'égalité d'accès des femmes aux services de vulgarisation. En Ouganda, le projet RFS a consenti un effort délibéré pour assurer une participation égale des femmes et des hommes aux services de vulgarisation, en collaborant avec les chefs de clans et les anciens pour mobiliser les femmes à s'engager dans les champs écoles paysans soutenus par le programme RFS. 

Découvrez les projets pays RFS afin de voir d'autres exemples illustrant l’exécution des activités sensibles au genre par les pays RFS. 

Ressources utiles

Nous disposons d'une bibliothèque croissante de rapports, de mémoires, d'études de cas, de supports médiatiques, d'outils et de lignes directrices. Découvrez toutes les ressources sur les approches sensibles au genre afin de mieux comprendre les activités de notre programme.

  • Progress Report on the GEF Gender Implementation Strategy

    23 mai 2021

    The GEF Annual Progress Reports on Gender Implementation Strategy provide regular updates to the GEF Council on the GEF’s progress with regard to mainstreaming gender considerations into all GEF-funded projects and programmes. This is the third progress report since the approval of the Gender Implementation Strategy in June 2018.

     

    The report provides a cumulative analysis and overview of progress related to the GEF-7 Results Framework on Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment. It also highlights some reflections on emerging opportunities in GEF-8 to build on the significant progress across the GEF partnership in addressing gender equality and promoting women’s empowerment.

    Plus d'infos

    Mise en œuvre de projets prenant en compte la dimension de genre dans le cadre du programme "Systèmes Alimentaires Résilients"

    10 fvrier 2021

    La parité de genre est une question transversale au sein du programme RFS et la prise en compte de l’égalité constitue un aspect majeur dans la conception des projets pays RFS. Cette note d'orientation est conçue pour aider les équipes pays à identifier les éléments de genre les plus pertinents en fonction du thème et de la portée de leur projet. Elle préconise également des activités, des processus et des approches pour aborder ces dimensions de genre dans la mise en œuvre du projet. L'objectif est de s'assurer que les hommes et les femmes ont des chances identiques de participer, de contribuer et de bénéficier des projets RFS.

    Plus d'infos

    Boîte à Outils sur le Genre et l'Inclusion : Recherche Participative sur le Changement Climatique et l'Agriculture

    21 avril 2020

    La Boîte à Outils sur le Genre et l'Inclusion : La Recherche Participative sur le Changement Climatique et l'Agriculture est un guide approfondi et prêt à l'emploi pour les chercheurs et les professionnels du développement afin d'aider à découvrir les importantes différences de genre et de société dans les communautés rurales.

    La boîte à outils sur le genre est le résultat d'un partenariat à long terme entre le Programme de Recherche sur le Changement Climatique, l'Agriculture et la Sécurité Alimentaire (CCAFS) du CGIAR, le Centre Mondial d'Agroforesterie (ICRAF) et CARE International. L'Organisation des Nations unies pour l'Alimentation et l'Agriculture (FAO) a apporté de précieuses contributions pour garantir un produit de recherche de haute qualité.

    Plus d'infos

English Français

Gender

Within the RFS programme, gender is a cross-cutting theme incorporated into the design and implementation of each project. Gender-responsive approaches enable each RFS project to work towards gender equality with regards to access to productive resource and services, employment, and decision-making processes within the agriculture sector.

Why is there a need for gender-responsive interventions in RFS countries?

Why are gender-responsive approaches critical for building resilient food systems?

How are RFS countries implementing gender-responsive activities?

In sub-Saharan Africa, women represent roughly 50% of the agricultural labour force, yet their productivity levels are lower than men due to unequal access to land, credit, inputs, and extension services. Women also work longer hours, ranging from 12 to 13 hours more per week than men. Ultimately, this disparity between men and women impacts not only women, but the community as whole, undermining agricultural productivity, socio-economic development and food security. 

In RFS countries, climate change, land degradation, and biodiversity loss affect men and women differently. Even though women are often the primary providers and caretakers within their household, they often have less decision-making power than men. Power imbalances translate to differences in how resources are distributed within households. Women are more vulnerable to water and food shortages, an imbalance that is exacerbated in regions that are impacted by climate change, land degradation, and extreme weather events. With lower levels of formal education, women also lack the access and skills required for generating alternative incomes that could decrease their reliance on agricultural production for household livelihoods and food security. 

IFAD estimates that providing women with the same access to productive resources, skills, tools and technologies as men could increase production on women’s farms by 20-30%. Ensuring women’s equal involvement in community-based sustainable land management and natural resources management has been shown to improve land rehabilitation, reverse desertification, and improve socio-economic conditions within communities. 

In line with GEF’s ambition to ensure gender equality and promote women’s empowerment across its operations, RFS aims to close the gender gap in agriculture by integrating gender perspectives and concerns into the preparation, design, implementation, and monitoring and evaluation of agricultural projects and programmes. By integrating considerations of gender equality into each stage of RFS project implementation, RFS is working toward the transformation of discriminatory social institutions and practices. Equal access to resources and opportunities for men and women will support the sustainable improvement of agricultural production, food security, and participation in decision-making processes. 

Across the RFS programme, project teams have identified the different needs, roles and responsibilities of women within project sites, as well as opportunities for equal engagement with women. The findings of these assessments have been integrated into project implementation in a variety of ways, including the disaggregation of participation targets by gender in M&E frameworks, strategic partnerships with and capacity development of women’s groups, scaling up access to financing for women, offering subsidies on agricultural technologies and natural resource management assets for women, and a focus on supporting income-generating activities for women. 

The RFS Ethiopia project is currently engaging gender experts in the development of a gender-sensitive decision support tool, which allows for easy tracking of socio-economic indicators that have gender-responsive changes over the project period. In Nigeria, the RFS project has forged a strategic partnership with the Women Farmers Advancement Network (WOFAN), convening training workshops for extension workers with a focus on ensuring equal access to extension services for women. In Uganda, the RFS project has made a deliberate effort to ensure equal participation of women and men in extension services, working with clan leaders and elders to mobilise women to engage in the RFS-supported Farmer Field Schools.

Explore the RFS Country Projects to see more examples of how RFS countries are implementing gender-responsive activities.

Relevant resources

We have a growing library of reports, briefs, case studies, media, tools and guidelines. Explore all resources related to gender-responsive approaches to get greater insight into our programme activities.

  • Progress Report on the GEF Gender Implementation Strategy

    23 May 2021

    The GEF Annual Progress Reports on Gender Implementation Strategy provide regular updates to the GEF Council on the GEF’s progress with regard to mainstreaming gender considerations into all GEF-funded projects and programmes. This is the third progress report since the approval of the Gender Implementation Strategy in June 2018.

     

    The report provides a cumulative analysis and overview of progress related to the GEF-7 Results Framework on Gender Equality and Women’s Empowerment. It also highlights some reflections on emerging opportunities in GEF-8 to build on the significant progress across the GEF partnership in addressing gender equality and promoting women’s empowerment.

    More info

    Gender-responsive project implementation within the Resilient Food Systems programme

    10 February 2021

    Gender is a cross-cutting issue within the RFS programme and gender mainstreaming was a major aspect of RFS country projects design. This guidance note is designed to assist country teams to identify the most relevant gender dimensions according to the theme and scope of their project. It also suggests activities, methods and approaches to address those gender dimensions in project implementation. The aim is to ensure that both men and women have equal opportunities to participate in, contribute to, and benefit from the RFS projects.

    More info

    Gender and Inclusion Toolbox: Participatory Research in Climate Change and Agriculture

    21 April 2020

    The Gender and Inclusion Toolbox: Participatory Research in Climate Change and Agriculture is an in-depth, ready-to-use guide for researchers and development practitioners to help uncover important gender and social differences in rural communities. The gender toolbox is the result of a long-term partnership between the CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security (CCAFS), World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF), and CARE International. The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) has provided valuable contributions to ensure a high-quality research product.

    More info