Français English

Chaînes de valeur et accès au marché

Une chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire est un ensemble d'activités liées entre elles qui visent à créer un produit agricole de bout en bout. Pour les projets du programme RFS, adopter une approche de chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire signifie concevoir et mettre en œuvre des interventions qui répondent aux contraintes et aux défis existant dans des maillons spécifiques d'un système de production agricole – allant des fournisseurs d'intrants aux marchés finaux.

Pourquoi les interventions en matière de Chaîne de Valeur et d'Accès aux Marchés sont-elles nécessaire dans les pays du programme RFS ?

Pourquoi les interventions en matière de Chaîne de Valeur et d'Accès aux Marchés sont-elles essentielles à la mise en place de systèmes alimentaires résilients ?

Comment les pays du RFS mettent-ils en œuvre les activités relatives à la Chaîne de Valeur et l'Accès aux Marchés ?

Les petits exploitants agricoles des pays du RFS produisent principalement des produits agricoles destinés à la consommation des ménages ou opèrent au sein de chaînes de valeur agroalimentaires informelles "courtes" qui approvisionnent leur communauté locale. Les petits exploitants agricoles vendent généralement leurs récoltes, leur bétail et d'autres matières premières, soit directement soit par des intermédiaires, à de petits magasins ou marchés locaux. Ces marchés se caractérisent par des produits de faible valeur, des prix bas et des revenus faibles et irréguliers pour les agriculteurs.

Pour les petits exploitants agricoles qui ne produisent que pour la consommation des ménages, l'accès aux chaînes de valeur agroalimentaires informelles ou formelles peut permettre d'augmenter considérablement les revenus et offrir des possibilités de croissance. Pour les agriculteurs opérant déjà au sein de chaînes de valeur informelles, l'entrée dans les chaînes de valeur agroalimentaires formelles peut leur permettre d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés, de s'orienter vers des cultures à plus forte valeur ajoutée, d'améliorer leurs compétences et d'accroître leur sécurité de revenu.

L'un des obstacles les plus importants au développement des chaînes de valeur agroalimentaires et à l'amélioration des revenus des petits exploitants est l'accès aux marchés finaux. L’absence de participation des petits exploitants aux marchés finaux relève de plusieurs difficultés : incapacité à fournir des produits de qualité constamment ; manque d'infrastructures routières, de transport et de stockage ; manque d'accès au crédit et aux technologies ; et manque d'informations commerciales, de contrats et de coordination. 

Le programme RFS est axé sur le développement de chaînes de valeur alimentaires durables dans le cadre de projets nationaux. Cette approche combine le concept de chaînes de valeur avec des critères de développement durable, garantissant ainsi que le développement des chaînes de valeur est (a) économiquement durable, (b) socialement durable et (c) écologiquement durable.

En pratiquant une approche de chaîne de valeur durable à la conception et à la mise en œuvre des projets du RFS, les équipes des projets nationaux sont en mesure d'analyser les systèmes de production alimentaire sur leurs sites de projet, d'identifier les maillons faibles et de concevoir des interventions ciblées qui élimineront les contraintes afin que la chaîne de valeur puisse se développer. Les interventions ciblées peuvent comprendre l'amélioration de la qualité des semences, la création d'organisations de producteurs, la construction d'installations de stockage, la facilitation de la communication avec les marchés et la mise en place de plateformes pour la participation du secteur privé.

Le but ultime de ces interventions est d'introduire, de développer ou d'étendre des chaînes de valeur qui incluent les petits exploitants agricoles, relient les communautés rurales à des marchés plus importants, améliorent les revenus des ménages et sont durables à long terme. 

Les interventions relatives à la chaîne de valeur et à l'accès aux marchés englobent une grande variété d'activités. Dans le cadre du programme RFS, l'objectif principal de l'approche de la chaîne de valeur est d'analyser l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur alimentaire, d'identifier les contraintes au sein de la chaîne de valeur, et de concevoir et mettre en œuvre des interventions multilatérales pour répondre à ces contraintes afin que la chaîne de valeur puisse se développer et fournir des revenus améliorés et durables aux petits exploitants agricoles. 

De nombreuses équipes de projets nationaux du RFS adaptent cette approche au contexte spécifique de leur pays. À Eswatini, l'équipe du projet national RFS a identifié des chaînes de valeur potentielles avec des marchés existants, mais non exploités, à être soutenues et  promues, notamment dans le domaine de la volaille et l'apiculture. Au Sénégal, l'ONUDI et le FIDA ont ciblé six chaînes de valeur agricoles pour une intervention visant à réduire les pertes après récolte, à promouvoir l'efficacité énergétique et à gérer les ressources naturelles. Au Nigeria, le projet RFS développe à l’échelle interétatique des chaînes de valeur de denrées alimentaires clés (manioc, maïs, riz et sorgho) grâce à la mise en place de partenariats public-privé.

Explorez les Projets Nationaux du RFS pour davantage d’illustrations sur la mise en œuvre des activités relatives à la Chaîne de Valeur et l'Accès aux Marchés dans les pays du RFS.

Ressources utiles

Nous disposons d'une bibliothèque croissante de rapports, de dossiers, d'études de cas, de médias, d'outils et de lignes directrices. Explorez toutes les ressources sur la Chaîne de Valeur et l'Accès aux Marchés pour avoir un meilleur aperçu des activités de notre programme.

English Français

Value Chains & Market Access

An agri-food value chain is a set of linked activities that work to create an agricultural product from start to finish. For RFS projects, adopting an agri-food value chain approach means designing and implementing interventions that address constraints and challenges that exist within specific links of an agricultural production system—from input suppliers to end markets.

Why is there a need for Value Chain & Market Access interventions in RFS countries?

Why are Value Chain & Market Access interventions critical for building resilient food systems?

How are RFS countries implementing Value Chain & Market Access activities?

Smallholder farmers in RFS countries primarily produce agricultural products for household consumption or operate within informal ‘short’ agri-food value chains that supply their local community. Smallholder farmers often sell crops, livestock, and other raw materials, either directly or through middlemen, to small local stores or markets. These markets are characterised by low value products, low prices, and low and inconsistent returns for farmers. 

For those smallholder farmers who only produce for household consumption, gaining entry into either informal or formal agri-food value chains has the potential to significantly increase incomes and provide opportunities for growth. For smallholder farmers already operating within informal value chains, entry into formal agri-food value chains can provide exposure to new markets, opportunities to pivot to higher value crops, skills upgrading and greater income security. 

One of the most significant barriers to agri-food value chain development, and improvement in smallholder incomes, is access to end markets. The lack of smallholder participation in markets is caused by a number of challenges: inability to supply consistent products; lack of road infrastructure, transport, and storage; lack of access to credit and technologies; and lack of commercial information, contracting and coordination.

The RFS programme is focused on developing sustainable food value chains within country projects. This approach combines the concept of value chains with sustainable development criteria, ensuring that value chain development is (a) economically sustainable; (b) socially sustainable; and (c) environmentally sustainable. 

By applying a sustainable value chain approach to RFS project design and implementation, country project teams are able to analyse food production systems within their project sites, identify weak links within food value chains and design targeted interventions that will remove constraints so that the value chain can develop. Target interventions may include improving seed quality, establishing producer organisations, constructing storage facilities, facilitating communication with markets and establishing platforms for private sector engagement. 

The ultimate aim of these interventions is to introduce, develop or expand value chains that are inclusive of smallholder farmers, connect rural communities with larger markets, improve household incomes and are sustainable in the long-term. 

Value chain and market access interventions encompass a wide variety of activities. Within the RFS programme, the main objective of the value chain approach is to analyse the entire food value chain, identify constraints within the value chain, and design and implement multilateral interventions to address those constraints so that the value chain can develop and provide improved, sustainable income for smallholder farmers. 

Many RFS country projects teams are tailoring this approach to their specific country context. In Eswatini, the RFS country project team has identified potential value chains with existing, but untapped markets to support and promote, including poultry and beekeeping. In Senegal, UNIDO and IFAD have targeted six agro-value chains for intervention with the goal of decreasing post-harvest losses, promoting energy efficiency and managing natural resources. In Nigeria, the RFS project is developing interstate value chains in key food commodities (cassava, maize, rice, and sorghum) through the establishment of public-private partnerships. 

Explore the RFS Country Projects to see more examples of how RFS countries are implementing Value Chain & Market Access activities. 

Stories from the Field

Explore our stories from the field to learn more about how RFS country project teams are implementing activities related to the programmatic theme of Value Chains & Market Access.

Relevant resources

We have a growing library of reports, briefs, case studies, media, tools and guidelines. Explore all resources related to Value Chains & Market Access to get greater insight into our programme activities.

  • Catalysing resilient and sustainable food value chain development in Africa

    27 June 2021

    RFS Regional Hub partners AGRA and UNDP have supported country projects in developing resilient and sustainable value chains since the programme's start. This brief provides an overview of the resilient and sustainable food value chain development (RSFVCD) approach and its relevance to smallholder farming systems. It closes with the three grant-winning project proposals for catalysing the development of ‘green’ food value chains in RFS countries.

    More info

    Training Manual for Resilient and Sustainable Food Value Chain Development in Africa

    05 May 2021

    Through the RFS programme, the United Nations Development Programme and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa launched a training manual to advance a holistic approach to agricultural productivity and agribusiness development in smallholder farming systems.


    The guide aims to build capacities and analytical skills to help value chain actors, especially smallholder producers and service providers, such as extension officers and marketers, embrace value chain greening. These skills will help target value chain actors to identify and understand relationships with other key value chain players. The manual blends best practices and lessons learned from projects, programmes, and initiatives that promote food value chain greening. 

    More info

    Enabling sustainable food systems: Innovators’ handbook

    29 January 2021

    FAO and the National Research Institute for Agriculture, Food and Environment (INRAE) have published a new handbook, Enabling Sustainable Food Systems. The handbook draws lessons from a group of innovators from Asia, Africa, the Americas and Europe who are leading initiatives to grow, share, sell and consume more sustainable foods in their local communities. The innovations within the handbook are organised into four categories: engaging consumers, producing sustainably, getting products to market and getting organised.

     

    The report was officially launched at the 3rd Global Conference of Sustainable Food Systems held by the One Planet network. The event, which took place on 3 December 2020, was organised by FAO, INRAE, the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements and RFS. It featured presentations from around the world that showcased local innovations that have had a big impact on building sustainable food systems. 

    More info