Français English

Agroforesterie et reboisement

World Agroforestry définit l'agroforesterie comme l'interaction de l'agriculture et des arbres, y compris l'utilisation des arbres à des fins agricoles. Il s'agit d'un système dynamique de gestion des ressources naturelles visant à produire des arbres pour le bois d'œuvre, à fournir des aliments divers et nutritifs et à assurer la protection de l'environnement naturel. Le reboisement permet de rétablir les forêts dégradées à leur état initial.

Pourquoi des interventions en matière d'agroforesterie et de reboisement sont-elles nécessaires dans les pays RFS ?

Pourquoi l'agroforesterie et le reboisement sont-ils essentiels à la création des systèmes alimentaires résilients ?

Comment les pays RFS exécutent-ils les activités d'agroforesterie et de reboisement ?

En Afrique, la demande de terres arables augmente en fonction de la demande de denrées alimentaires pour nourrir les populations en croissance rapide, ce qui entraîne une concurrence directe entre le secteur agricole et les zones boisées ou forestières d'Afrique. Le changement climatique et les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes ont un impact supplémentaire sur la productivité des terres agricoles, poussant ainsi les agriculteurs vers les terres auparavant boisées afin de répondre aux besoins alimentaires et énergétiques de leurs communautés.

Avec l'augmentation de la demande alimentaire, les petits exploitants agricoles ne se contentent pas seulement d'agrandir les terres consacrées à la production agricole, mais intensifient également les pratiques agricoles non durables afin de répondre à la demande. Ces pratiques engendrent en fin de compte la dégradation des terres et la détérioration de la santé des sols. On estime que 65 % des terres arables, 30 % des pâturages et 20 % des forêts en Afrique sont dégradés. Ce schéma actuel pérennise un cercle vicieux qui voit les sols devenir moins productifs, obligeant les petits exploitants à poursuivre leur expansion vers les terres forestières à la recherche de terres arables, provoquant une dégradation supplémentaire, la perte de services écosystémiques essentiels, une baisse de la productivité agricole et une perte de puits de carbone.    

Afin de répondre aux effets négatifs du déboisement, le programme RFS favorise les interventions en matière d'agroforesterie et de reboisement en tant que composantes essentielles pour atteindre la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et contribuer aux avantages environnementaux mondiaux. L'intégration des arbres dans les paysages agricoles et la planification de l'utilisation des terres autour des écosystèmes forestiers permettent de restaurer les terres dégradées en augmentant la fertilité des sols, en contrôlant l'érosion, en améliorant la rétention de l'eau dans les sols et en améliorant la qualité des eaux souterraines. 

Outre l'amélioration des rendements agricoles, la réhabilitation et la plantation des forêts permettent aux communautés locales d'accéder à des produits alimentaires et non alimentaires diversifiés qui contribuent à la nutrition et à la sécurité alimentaire tout en générant de nouvelles sources de revenus. En ce qui concerne l'atténuation du changement climatique, l'agroforesterie et le reboisement améliorent la séquestration du carbone tout en réduisant la contribution de l'agriculture aux émissions de carbone. La réhabilitation et la plantation des forêts réduisent également la vulnérabilité des communautés au changement climatique et augmentent la résilience des communautés aux chocs climatiques. 

Les projets pays RFS exécutent diverses activités d'agroforesterie et de reboisement, notamment la plantation d'arbres, l'installation de fourneaux efficaces, la plantation en courbes de niveau, la culture intercalaire de haies et la promotion des chaînes de valeur des produits forestiers non ligneux.

Au Burundi, un pays qui a perdu 5 % de sa couverture forestière entre 2001 et 2019, la FAO se sert des champs-écoles paysans pour sensibiliser sur l'importance des forêts et enseigner aux petits exploitants des techniques agroforestières comme la plantation en courbes de niveau, afin de réduire l'érosion des sols et d'améliorer leur santé. Au Burkina Faso, l'équipe en charge du projet RFS aide le gouvernement du pays à atteindre ses objectifs de neutralité en matière de dégradation des terres par la promotion de l'agroforesterie et l’appui aux exploitants forestiers. En Éthiopie, le programme RFS aide les clubs environnementaux des écoles locales à planter des semis d'arbres dans l'enceinte de leurs établissements scolaires tout en sensibilisant les élèves sur l'importance vitale des forêts.

Découvrez les projets pays RFS afin de voir d'autres exemples illustrant l’exécution des activités d'agroforesterie et de reboisement par les pays RFS. 

Ressources utiles

Nous disposons d'une bibliothèque croissante de rapports, de mémoires, d'études de cas, de supports médiatiques, d'outils et de lignes directrices. Découvrez toutes les ressources sur l'agroforesterie et le reboisement afin de mieux comprendre les activités de notre programme.

  • Onto the farm, into the home: How intrahousehold gender dynamics shape land restoration in Eastern Kenya

    05 juillet 2022

    Abstract

    While attention has been paid largely to forest restoration, meeting global land restoration pledges will require scaling-up restoration of ecosystem services on agricultural land. This paper contributes to the literature on restoration practice and agricultural technology adoption, by shifting the focus onto the farm and considering the role of intrahousehold dynamics in the uptake of farmland restoration practices. We examine the intrahousehold decisions and gender relations surrounding the trial of two on-farm restoration practices: tree planting and planting basins; with over 2,500 farmers in the eastern drylands of Kenya. Combining results from household surveys, interviews and focus group discussions, our findings reveal that decisions over the uptake of restoration practices, although usually initiated by women who attend agricultural workshops, are often discussed between husband and wife and that multiple social dimensions intersect to shape men’s and women’s interest in, contribution to, and benefit from different practices. Furthermore, our study demonstrates that these intrahousehold relations are, in turn, shaped by women’s participation in innovation processes and broader societal changes, particularly the outmigration of rural men. Based on these insights, we offer recommendations for improving the dissemination and uptake of on-farm restoration practices in eastern Kenya and achieving more inclusive and gender-equitable outcomes.

    Plus d'infos

    Forêts Invisibles | Arbres dans les paysages rizicoles au LAOS (République Démocratique Populaire)

    21 aot 2020

    La FAO utilise au Laos l'approche Champs-Ecoles des Paysans (CEP) pour aider les conseillers et vulgarisateurs ruraux à guider les communautés agricoles dans l'établissement de pratiques agro-forestières dans les paysages rizicoles en Asie du Sud-Est. 


    Ce document constitue une ébauche de programme d’enseignement sur les thèmes spéciaux CEP concernant les arbres dans les paysages rizicoles au Laos et qui fait partie des écoles pratiques pour les agriculteurs saisonniers. Il comprend un programme pour deux sessions thématiques spéciales qui explorent les rôles que jouent les arbres poussant dans et autour des rizières, dans la conservation de la biodiversité et la sécurité alimentaire. Le document fournit, pas à pas, des détails sur la façon de conduire les sessions, y compris les objectifs d'apprentissage, le matériel nécessaire, la méthodologie et les conseils pour la discussion.

    Plus d'infos

    Guide de mise en œuvre Champs-Ecoles des Paysans (CEP) | Agriculture Forestière et Développement des Moyens de Subsistance

    21 aot 2020

    Ce guide de mise en œuvre des Champs-Ecoles des Paysans (CEP) est construit à partir des expériences acquises dans le cadre du Projet de foresterie sociale intensifiée (ISFP) au Kenya (2004-2009), financé par la Coopération internationale japonaise et mis en œuvre par le Service Forestier du Kenya.


    Ce guide de mise en œuvre CEP a été développé à l’intention des concepteurs et gestionnaires de projets ainsi que pour les praticiens de terrain qui envisagent d'utiliser la plate-forme CEP pour la vulgarisation et l’aide à la gestion de l’agriculture forestière et le développement des moyens d'existence basés sur la sylviculture. Il contient un aperçu de l'approche CEP, des exemples de la façon dont les CEP ont été gérés et mis en application dans le projet de foresterie sociale intensifiée, ainsi qu’un guide de terrain pour les praticiens, offrant des descriptions par étape de la mise en œuvre de CEP sur le terrain.

    Plus d'infos

English Français

Agroforestry & Reforestation

World Agroforestry defines agroforestry as the interaction of agriculture and trees, including the agricultural use of trees. It is a dynamic natural resource management system that aims to produce trees for timber, to supply diverse and nutritious foods, and to ensure the protection of the natural environment. Reforestation restores degraded forests to the original state.

Why is there a need for Agroforestry & Reforestation interventions in RFS countries?

Why is Agroforestry & Reforestation critical for building resilient food systems?

How are RFS countries implementing Agroforestry & Reforestation activities?

In Africa, the demand for food to feed rapidly growing populations is increasing the demand for arable land, leading to direct competition between the agriculture sector and Africa’s woodland and forest areas. Climate change and extreme weather events further impact the productivity of agricultural land, pushing farmers onto previously forested land in order to meet the food and energy needs of their communities. 

As demand for food increases, smallholder farmers are not only expanding land under agricultural production, but are intensifying unsustainable agricultural practices in order to meet demand. These practices ultimately lead to land degradation and declining soil health – it is estimated that 65% of arable land, 30% of grazing land and 20% of forests in Africa are degraded. This current pattern perpetuates a vicious cycle whereby soils become less productive, forcing smallholders to continue to expand into forested land in search of arable land, which leads to further degradation, loss of essential ecosystem services, a decline in agricultural productivity, and a loss of carbon sinks. 

In order to counteract the negative impacts of deforestation, the RFS programme promotes agroforestry and reforestation interventions as critical components in achieving food and nutrition security and contributing to global environment benefits. Integrating trees into agricultural landscapes and planning land use around forest ecosystems restores degraded land by increasing soil fertility, controlling erosion, improving soil water retention, and improve ground water quality. 

In addition to improving crop yields, the rehabilitation and planting of forests provides local communities with access to diversified food and non-food products that contribute to food nutrition and security and generate new streams of income. When it comes to climate change mitigation, agroforestry and reforestation improve carbon sequestration while reducing agricultural contributions to carbon emissions. The rehabilitation and planting of forests also reduces the vulnerability of communities to climate change and increases the resilience of communities to climate shocks.

RFS country projects are implementing a variety of agroforestry and reforestation activities, including tree planting, installing efficient cookstoves, contour planting, hedgerow intercropping, and the promotion of non-timber forest product value chains. 

In Burundi, a country that lost 5% of its forest cover between 2001 and 2019, FAO is using the Farmer Field Schools to both raise awareness of the importance of forests and teach smallholder farmers agroforestry techniques, such as contour planting, to reduce soil erosion and improve soil health. In Burkina Faso, the RFS country project team is helping the Government of Burkina Faso to reach its Land Degradation Neutrality targets through promotion of agroforestry and support of forest farmers. In Ethiopia, RFS is helping local school environmental clubs plant tree seedlings within their school compounds while teaching students about the vital importance of forests. 

Explore the RFS Country Projects to see more examples of how RFS countries are implementing Agroforestry & Reforestation activities.

Stories from the Field

Explore our stories from the field to learn more about how RFS country project teams are implementing activities related to the programmatic theme of Agroforestry & Reforestation.

Relevant resources

We have a growing library of reports, briefs, case studies, media, tools and guidelines. Explore all resources related to Agroforestry & Reforestation to get greater insight into our programme activities.

  • Enhancing food security through forest landscape restoration: Lessons from Burkina Faso, Brazil

    02 July 2020

    This IUCN report compiles case studies from Brazil, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, the Philippines and Viet Nam to highlight how forest landscape restoration (FLR) interventions enhance food security. They illustrate the ‘win-win’ solutions that can enhance land functionality and productivity, develop resilient food systems and explore the long-term potential outputs and enabling conditions for FLR interventions. A greater emphasis on the impacts of degradation and deforestation and other indicators are exemplified throughout these case studies in order to better understand the results from FLR interventions and their relationship to land productivity.

    More info

    The Role of Crop Production in the Forest Landscape Restoration Approach—Assessing the Potential Benefits of Meeting the Bonn Challenge

    02 July 2020

    This paper, from colleagues at IUCN and the International Food Policy Research Institute, provides important insight into how a full integration of crop production in restoration efforts could impact food production levels, food availability, forest carbon stocks, and Greenhouse gas emissions. Existing approaches and methodologies that investigate effects of land degradation on food security vary greatly. Although a relatively rich body of literature that investigates localized experiences, geophysical, and socioeconomic drivers of land degradation, and the costs and benefits of avoiding land degradation already exists, less rigorously explored are the global effects of restoring degraded landscapes for the health of the land, the climate, and world food security. The current scale of land degradation is such that the problem can be meaningfully addressed only if local successes are upscaled and a large number of landowners and land managers implement restoration activities.     

    More info

    Ex-Ante Carbon-balance Tool (EX-ACT)

    17 March 2020

    EX-ACT is an appraisal system developed by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) that provides estimates of the impact of agriculture and forestry development projects, programmes and policies on the carbon-balance. The tool helps project designers estimate and prioritise project activities with high benefits in economic and climate change mitigation terms. The amount of greenhouse gas mitigation may also be used as part of economic analyses and in project funding applications.

    More info